${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Phone 732-504-3841 Toll Free 877-251-5491

New Jersey law enforcement targets distracted drivers in April

When individuals taketheir eyes off of the road ahead to focus their attention on something else, we call it distracted driving. A variety of actions can be considered a distraction, including changing the radio, leaning down to pick something up off the floor, eating food, putting on makeup or even turning around to scold the kids that are acting up in the back seat.

Although any of those behaviors could be considered a distraction, the primary focus of distracted driving campaigns is on those little mobile devices that seem to be in everyone's pockets these days. To combat this problem, New Jersey lawmakers took the necessary steps to make handheld use of a mobile device illegal in the state, and this includes both texting and talking.

This legislation does more than ban the behavior. Those that are caught participating are charged with a fine. As it stands, a driver caught violating the law can be charged with a fine of at least $100. That minimum wasn't considered to be enough, and new increases are set to take effect on July 1. The minimum fine will jump to a $200 to $400 range for a first offense. Subsequent offenses could lead to an $800 fine.

Leading up to this change is a statewide campaign to reduce distracted driving going on this month and ending on April 21. The Distracted Driving 2014 Statewide Crackdown program includes increased enforcement from at least 60 participating police departments from New Jersey and other states.

Of course, increased enforcement requires extra resources, including funds for the officers that will staff the checkpoints. This is why the Division of Highway Traffic Safety has provided a little extra funding to help cover the costs.

Fines for violators and funding for increased patrols are certainly not the only costs associated with distracted driving. The victims of this behavior are the ones that incur some of the greatest costs. An Ocean City personal injury attorney can help victims and their families obtain compensation to help pay for the medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering caused at the hands of a negligent driver.

Source: The Daily Princetonian, "News & Notes: New Jersey implements Distracted Driving Crackdown program," Chitra Marti, April 9, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Have A Legal Question?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Our Office Locations

Toms River Office
189 Route 37 West
Toms River, NJ 08755

Toll Free: 877-251-5491
Phone: 732-504-3841
Fax: 732-505-6511
Fax: 732-349-8850
Toms River Law Office Map

Forked River Office
623 Lacey Road
Forked River, NJ 08731

Toll Free: 877-251-5491
Phone: 732-504-3841
Map & Directions

Bricktown Office
74 Brick Boulevard
Building 2, Suite 112
Bricktown, NJ 08723

Map & Directions