Taking the time to write a will is worth it to prevent family disputes after your death. It can also reduce your estate taxes. How much it costs to make a will in New Jersey depends on which method you use.
Cost of a will
Using a web-based service to write a will on your own in New Jersey costs around $100. If you consult with an estate planning attorney, it could cost around $1,000. Complex wills that require more time could be over $1,000.
What’s the benefit of consulting with an attorney?
Attorneys could suggest ideas for saving money on taxes that you may not have otherwise known of. This would allow you to pass on more of your wealth to your beneficiaries. Some people find that they save enough money for it to be worth consulting with an attorney.
What makes a valid will?
You need to have two witnesses observe the signing of your will for it to be valid in New Jersey. They also need to sign the will after you. Only people who are 18 years old and older can serve as witnesses. If you hold the signing at a notary, your will could go through probate faster. New Jersey also allows you to register your will at a small fee. Whenever you update your will, you need to have two witnesses observe it. New Jersey also requires that you write updates in the form of amendments. Date and sign the amendments as well. Another important legality is to always write the will in full before signing it. New Jersey views a will as invalid if the signature comes first.
Any adult could write a will in New Jersey as long as it’s within the law. You should make sure that you understand the rules for creating the will first.